Lean In 15 – January 2016

lean-in-15

It’s fair to say that, in my eyes, Joe Wicks is a godsend.

Having been an avid follower of his ‘Lean in 15’ Instagram videos for almost two years -thanks to another health account I followed posting one of his 15 second works of wonder – I was instantly hooked. His boldness to go against every single diet that eliminates at least one of the major food groups and encourage everyone to eat more resonated with me (for obvious reasons…) Not only that, but the idea that you can be in and out of the gym in 30 minutes yet look like you’ve done three consecutive classes gets a big (albeit sweaty) thumbs up from me.

So when my copy of ‘Lean in 15’ finally arrived after having pre-ordered it months in advance, it soon became my bible.

Given that when we were halfway into January I realised I’d not drank any alcohol, I decided to stick it out until the end of the month in the hope that this would only further my progress. And given that I only tend to drink if I’m going out out – thanks to my monstrous hangovers – no alcohol wasn’t too much of a task.

So my hangover-free weekends were spent, well, spending. Weekly shops at Aldi became a bit of an expensive affair, but I figured it pay off in the long run (quite literally.) Sunday afternoons were spent prepping meals for the week and filling my ever-expanding tupperware collection.

Week 1 consisted of either the Incredible Hulk smoothie which I drank on the tram on the way to work or a pot of Reduced Carb Cinnamon Oatmeal for breakfast, Speedy Beef Stroganoff with a pile of spinach for lunch and Chilli with a Sweet Potato for tea after a workout. I alternated my HIIT workouts either doing 20 second sprints on the treadmill with a 40 second rest or the Resistance workout from the book.

Week 2 consisted of Reduced Carb Cinnamon Oatmeal for breakfast, Turkey Meatballs for lunch (note to self: don’t cook them in a slow cooker to ensure they aren’t raw again – woops) and Chicken Teriyaki for tea. I opted to do more of the Resistance workouts this week with the odd treadmill HIIT session. Quickly learning that my relationship with running is a rocky one (I just don’t have the patience and/or stamina.)

Week 3 was Cinnamon Oatmeal for breakfast, Turkey Moussaka for lunch (delicious may I add in spite of my meatball palaver) and Saag Aloo with chicken for tea. I continued with Resistance HIIT training and also went to a DI30 HIIT & Run class which was a challenge to say the least.

Week 4 I decided to try the Go Go Green Smoothie for breakfast and was surprised by the sweetness in spite of the luminous green colour thanks to my new best friend coconut water and my old friend, peanut butter. Lunch was Chicken with Tarragon & Mushrooms with spinach and I had Chilli with Sweet Potato for tea. I also did my first Boxfit class which was an eye-opener (I never knew my arms could turn quite so red) as well as another DI30 and an Emily Skye legs and lower body workout.

Having taken progress photos on the 9th of January, it was then time to take more this week. Ensuring I wore the same sports bra and knickers, my fab housemate papped my in my best gear so I could compare the two. I’ve steered well clear of the Sad Step as I’ve always been weighed down by the numbers on the scales (pun intended) and have noticed a difference in my quads, bum and chest area.

Although the pictures didn’t show a huge difference, I’m trying to focus on the positives, my legs are stronger, my stomach is starting to show some very very slight definition and my bum is perkier. I allowed myself the odd Nando’s (swapping peri chips for sweet potato wedges and the odd three course Sunday roast) so I can’t say I’ve been meticulous in only eating meals from the book.

In hindsight, I should have taken measurements too as I’m sure I will have seen some change there, but nevertheless I’m not feeling disheartened and the meal planning and HIIT training continues…

 

About Laura Scott

I'm a 22 year old copywriter working for an ecommerce website based in Manchester.

Leave a Reply

