Beauty Review: Illamasqua Gel Sculpt

With myself, and my bank balance, having matured over the recent years – I’ve learnt that when it comes to make up, you really do get what you pay for. Who knew?

I learnt this following a trip to the Benefit for my 18th birthday where I invested in Hoola and Watt’s Up, having had the make-up artist have a dabble and been v. impressed with the outcome. Three years later and they’re still alive and kicking (albeit almost on their way out) in my ever expanding make up bag.

Gone are the days where I could restock my make-up bag for a fiver at the Natural Collection counter. And equally, gone is the green concealer that I would layer on each morning before school to try and mask my red cheeks. Yes, really.

With the rise in self-taught make up artists, anyone and everyone is contour-crazy, myself included. Though I know that there’s a fine line between looking contoured and just plain dirty. So when my favourite make-up artist showcased her work with the new Illamasqua Gel Sculpt on Instagram – I was sold.

Having previously invested in Illamasqua foundation and nail varnish I knew it was worthy of £22.00. My friend was shocked at the colour of Silhouette- it really is a deep brown and, compared to my rosy complexion, it looked a little extreme, even I’ll admit. The next day, I was dubious, but with my faith with the masters of make up artistry, I persevered and found that the result was positive all round. I used it sparingly, as I was only doing daytime make up, but it definitely added a subtle, dewy glow as opposed to the powdered bronzers I would usually use. And it was perfect for daytime.

The real test was last Friday. I was going out for my friends 21st and, having felt that I hadn’t used Silhouette to its full potential yet, I went to my first port of call: The YouTube Gods.

Two top tips I learnt from Shonagh’s tutorial:

– Apply Silhouette before any powder (a mistake I’d previously made, duh)
– Build it up gradually.

Needless to say, I achieved (or hope I did) a subtle contour that didn’t look dirty or hollowed out.

Available in three shades: Charm, Silhouette and Fluster at: www.illamasqua.com/shop/cheeks/contouring/gel-sculpt-silhouette/

About Laura Scott

I'm a 22 year old copywriter working for an ecommerce website based in Manchester.

Leave a Reply

